RW1: Reflections on Psalm 119:143-144

on

Conviction and encouragement seem nearly inseparable in God’s Word.  Where there is one, the other cannot be far away.  In reading Psalm 119:143-144, I was struck by this truth yet again.

“Trouble and anguish have come upon me, yet Your commandments are my delight.  Your testimonies are righteous forever; give me understanding that I may live,” writes the Psalmist.  I find this passage convicting largely because my sin nature finds no pleasure in reading the Bible.  I confess, I often read the Scriptures daily because I should, rather than because I love to.  Granted, I do turn to my Bible for comfort when I am troubled or discouraged.  But how often do I truly delight in it – rejoicing in the very breath of God (2 Tim. 3:16)?  How often, when the hard times come, do I exult in the God of my salvation (Hab. 3:17-19)?

I am convicted also on account of my pride.  The psalmist records truly that only God can grant understanding, and thus life; my sinful soul desperately wants to believe that I can save myself.

Yet, in the very words which reprove me I find such blessed encouragement!  The Word of God is something to glory in.  Even when “trouble and anguish…come upon me,” I may delight in the sweet testimonies of my God.  In the midst of my greatest difficulty, the Word of my Lord comforts me and lifts me.

In the same way, I would be spiritually dead if God had not granted me understanding.  That is not terrible in the least – it is a beautiful manifestation of God’s grace towards me, a sinner.  I can and should truly rejoice that He is the only one who can save me from myself, rather than bemoan the fact that I am helpless apart from Him.

~CarreenA

2 Comments Add yours

  1. msgainestps says:

    Good intro, Carreen. I appreciate your honesty. One suggestion: set the scripture apart by itself. It might be easier to read and focus on that way. Love the title of your blog, by the way!

  2. joshw2 says:

    Carreen – I find it inspiring reading your personal meditation on God’s word, and how truthful you are in the areas you have small flaws in.

    Great job.

write on a balloon...

