My First Song Ever: The Love of My God

on

This is the first song that I ever wrote.  My attention was drawn a year or so ago to the seemingly opposed characteristics of God’s nature: the wrath that required a perfect sacrifice to cover sin, the love that satisfied that wrath by sacrificing His own Son; the justice and the mercy, blended in one triune God.  Not the best poetry in the world, I know, nor the best music…but born out of one of those “God, You are amazing” moments.

~

The Love of My God

~

Because of my sin

I was cast from God’s sight;

Lost in the darkness,

Debarred from His light

~

Because of His Son

I am counted as righteous;

Freed by His blood,

Slave to His holiness

~

The wrath of my God, righteous, divine

The blood of my Savior, given for mine

Justice and mercy, blended in One

I, given new life by the death of His Son

This is the love of my God

~

“Be holy”, said God –

An impossible task

For one who will not

Of God for help ask.

~

“Be holy”, said God,

And provided a way.

He gave me His holiness

And for my sins paid.

~

The wrath of my God, righteous, divine

Justice and mercy, blended in One

I, given new life by the death of His Son

This is the love of my God

~

God became man

A creature like us

Perfect and sinless

Though tempted and pressed

~

God became man

That man might know God

Be adopted as sons

­­­­­­­­­­­­­and forever sing laud

~

The wrath of my God, righteous, divine

Justice and mercy, blended in One

I, given new life by the death of His Son

This is the love of my God

This is the love of my God

This is the love of my God

~

For those of you who are musical, the piano music for this song is in B minor, and pretty intense during the verses.  It lightens up for the chorus with more major chords, and keeps up a strong beat throughout.  Maybe one of these days I’ll actually record it…and figure out how to post a clip of it…but for now, I’m afraid you’ll have to use your imagination.

~c. a.

One Comment Add yours

  1. It’s beautiful! I love how its just so “From the heart” and so true! I would love to hear it if you could get it posted!

write on a balloon...

