A Poem from English 8

on

I wrote this three years ago when I was taking English 8 (back when there was English 8…now it’s “English 2”) and had writer’s block.  I still feel like this sometimes, and I’m sure you all can relate!

Excuses

I sit

on the couch

and try to

compose

a poem for English 8.

But every time

I have a thought…

somebody starts the vacuum.

Well, perhaps not

every time,

but I know

quite often

someone yells,

“Come look at this!”

And I get distracted.

So please forgive

me

if you find

my poems aren’t

all you wish –

I promise I’ll

write

a better one

as soon as

the vacuum quits.

~c. a.

write on a balloon...

