RR15 – Unconditional

Unconditional love. Every time that I hear that phrase, my mind immediately jumps to the fact that nothing that I do can separate me from the love of God.  No matter how many times I mock His name by my actions, He never stops loving me.  But until I read Shel Silverstein’s The Giving Tree, I never realized that it runs the other way as well; that love which takes no regard of its own resources also fits into the category of the unconditional.  John 15:13 says, “No man has greater love than this, that one lay down his life for his friends.”  As much as I sometimes wish that this verse only applied to those rare emergency situations where heroics gain applause and renown, I must admit that this laying down of life, this dying to self, must occur all the time.  To give and give, even when nothing remains but the empty shell, to give without expecting or desiring anything in return — that is unconditional love indeed.  The love which Christ calls each of us to is the same love which He gave to us.

~c. a.

p.s.  This is a song that I really wanted to include in my CW14 but did not have time for.  As I was writing this RR, it kept going through my head, so I decided to include it.  The video itself is rather cheesy, but I hope the song will bless you as much as it has me!

write on a balloon...

