S6 – Quotations on Faith

on

That’s right…quotations!  They are not “quotes,” everyone…to “quote” is a verb.  “Quotation” is a noun.  Now that that little piece of business is taken care of, let me tell you all a story.  Once upon a time, there was a c. a. whose three assignments were due in twenty minutes.  So she transferred them all from the laptop computer, where she had been working on two of them all day to the big, hooked-up-to-internet computer, where she had been working on one of them the day before.  Only she transferred all three of them from the laptop to the big computer…including the unedited version of her S6 assignment.  And then she did something incredibly silly.  She hit “replace file” without looking at what she was replacing it with.  You guessed it — she replaced the nice, new, edited version with the old unedited version.  Never to see the nice one again.  So, she had to scramble very quickly to get her assignment finished and turned in in time.  She turned it in three minutes late.  And hoped her teacher would have grace.  =)  And now that that little piece of business is taken care of, you can finally see her quotations.

~

Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.

~Hebrews 11:1

~

Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance.  And let endurance have its perfect result, so that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.

~James 1:2-4

~

Therefore, being always of good courage, and knowing that while we are at home in the body we are absent from the Lord — for we walk by faith, not by sight — we are of good courage, I say, and prefer rather to be absent from the body and to be at home with the Lord.

~2 Corinthians 5:6-8

~

The essence of faith is being satisfied with all that God is for us in Jesus.

~John Piper

~

Right now I don’t hear so well

And I was wondering if You could speak up

I know that You tore the veil

So I could sit with You in person and

Hear what You’re saying but

Right now

I think You’re whispering.

~Sara Groves, Hello Lord

~

Faith… is the art of holding on to things your reason once accepted, despite your changing moods.

~C. S. Lewis

~

In the daytime there are stars in the heavens

But they only shine at night

And the deeper that I go into darkness

The more I see their radiant light

So let me learn that my losses are my gain

To be broken is to heal

That the valley is where Your power is revealed

~Bob Kauflin, In the Valley

Based on The Valley of Vision

by Aurthur Bennett

~

Faith is deliberate confidence in the character of God whose ways you may not understand at the time.

~Oswald Chambers

~

It seems wrong, somehow, to be sticking myself into the same list as people like C. S. Lewis, but that is what the assignment requires, so here goes:

Faith is what goes on trusting that the Father’s hand will not drop you into the coals, even when the flame has completely blinded your eyes.

~c. a.

~

And, of course, I just had to include some Winnie-ther-Pooh.  I know, some of you are thinking “enough, already, with the Winnie-ther-Pooh!”  But really…doesn’t it sum it up quite nicely?

Then [Pooh] began to think of all the things Christopher Robin would want to tell him when he came back from wherever he was going to, and how muddling it would be for a Bear of Very Little Brain to try and get them right in his mind.  “So, perhaps,” he said sadly to himself, “Christopher Robin won’t tell me any more,” and he wondered if being a Faithful Knight meant that you just went on being faithful without being told things.

~A. A. Milne, The House at Pooh Corner

And now, because it would look funny for me to put my initials below the “A. A. Milne,” I had to write this sentence so that it wouldn’t look quite so funny.  =)

~c. a.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. mekame31 says:

    Well, for the first time ever I am not scrambling to get assignments turned in the morning of class. So I’m taking some leasurely time to comment early…

    a) Thanks for the grammar lesson *ahem* at the beginning =) along with the tragic story. I have had things like that happen before, so you have my full sympathy. It’s not fun at all.

    b) All great quotes! My favorites were C.S. Lewis and yours. Your quote was very poetic and memorable…I like…But the all-time best quote on there was (you guessed it) Winnie-ther-Pooh. I cannot get over just how profound and poignant those stories can really be. I mean, in a weird way, I almost find them heart-breaking (yes, I get emotional over strange things). But I sometimes wish that all my flashy, over-dramatic writing could have even half as much true heart as those simple, whimsical little stories.

    Anyway, enough waxing. A great collection of thoughts on faith. *thumbs up*

  2. carreena says:

    Why thank you! It’s a little…um…maybe embarrassing to be lumped in with C. S. Lewis, but I’ll take it as a major compliment.

    And as to Winnie-ther-Pooh…I know. I just about fell over when I read that line for the first time. I knew Pooh was awesome, but I didn’t know he was profound!

write on a balloon...

