Beginnings

There’s a very interesting country song called “Live Like You Are Dying”.  I first heard it several years ago and while that song leaves much to be desired in the way of determining what is truly important in life, the idea behind it is an eye-opening one, to say the least.  Well, the other day my mom and I were talking about a line from a different song from West Side Story (deep, I know): “from your first cigarette to your last dying day.”  I thought that was hilarious, because, really…how many dying days does a person have?  And then it hit me.  Every day is a dying day.  When life begins, it begins to end.  Time starts ticking at conception.  What is more, I realized that for the Christian every day is a dying day on a spiritual level as well.  We are to die to ourselves every moment of our lives.  So, this scribbling is what came out of that realization.

Before we begin: yes, I did steal the country-song-phrase and I did turn it around to fit my words.  But no, I do not like the chorus the way it is now.  That’s going to get changed and it will probably not even look anything like this.  It’s just there to show sorta where I was coming from (besides which, I haven’t come up with anything better.  Yet.).  Yes, I did use basically the same rhythm and rhyme scheme as “ashes of a soul”.  It just did.  So I let it.  Yes, I’m hoping to put it to music some time soon.  And finally…this is a very, very, very rough draft.  In fact, it’s not even a draft. It’s a Scribbling.  The end result will probably be completely different and I’m only posting now for feedback on the general idea (although specifics are ok, if you like).  Is it saying what I want it to say?  Do you even know what I want it to say?  Am I way off or am I coming across as way off?  Don’t be afraid to let me know!

~

Where did it go?

It all seemed so

like play

~

that day

~

when Life began

before it ran

away

~

Time never turns back

it just goes black

when they say

~

Believe me, dear

life is here

to stay

~

Eternity starts now.

~

Every day

is my dying day

life was here, but it’s fading away

Every day

is the last I’ve been given

so I’ll kneel and pray

and die like I’m Living

~

Drew my first breath

never knew death

began that day

~

two ways

~

Sang the first note

but never wrote

my name

~

I never signed

below the line

that read Today

~

Yet here it is

Can’t escape this.

~

It’s Today.

~

And Eternity starts now.

~

Every Today

is my dying day

life was here, but it’s fading away

Every Today

is the last I’ve been given

so I’ll kneel and pray

and die like I’m Living

~

life is Death and

death is Life and

that’s the mystery

~

Every day

is my dying day

Life was here, but it’s fading away

Every day

is the last I’ve been given

so I’ll kneel and pray

and die like I’m Living

~c. a.

2 thoughts on “Beginnings

  1. first of all…WHERE did your uber-awesome red-and-tan theme go!?!?! *recovers self* Seriously, I vote go back.

    Now.

    This. Is. Seriously. Amazing. I’ve always thought that the pseudo-country-pop “live like you are dying” thing was really lame. Call me cynical. BUT reversing it like this is genius. I can’t even find words for how awesome it is. I mean, I love every word of this piece. Every phrase. I can’t pick favorites because the whole thing is my favorite. The idea behind it is so…inspired and you have treated it so well. Great, great, great job!

  2. first of all…it was uber-awesome, wasn’t it? But it was really cumbersome because it made the type so big…it was getting confusing for me and I assumed for my readers (which is…I think just you =D), so I switched. I’ll consider switching back, but I don’t know. This just seems so much cleaner and easier to work with for the amount of text I put on it.

    Now.

    I thought that “Live Like You are Dying” was really cheesy too…like, seriously, once you’re dead, it doesn’t matter if you’ve been skydiving or not. What matters is are you really alive? But it did start a train of thought. And I guess that’s what I’m trying to say here. Anyway, glad you liked it so much…I’m actually somewhat surprised, because I thought the chorus part was kinda cheesy with the die like you’re living. But maybe I shall listen to better judgment and leave it. =D

write on a balloon...

