Roses, Rings and Rusty Nails

It’s gorgeous outside my window right now…I know because I was just outside taking pictures of roses, rings and rusty nails (am I the only one who thinks that sounds rather poetic?).  Here is a smattering!  The rose is a full-blown one that smells amazing…getting the close-ups was like taking pictures in a perfume shop.  The rings are both ones that I basically always wear…the big one is the promise ring my dad gave me and the little rose one is one used to be my sister’s when she was little, but since it’s too small for her, I stole it to wear on my pinkie. I’ve always loved ring pictures and when Lydia Takeoka suggested that I pick an object to photograph in several different settings and angles, I figured that rings would be fun to do.  The rusty nails are the result of a little hunting along our back fence.  Amazing what you can find when you’re looking for it!  As you can see, I had fun playing with the editing on all of these.  We don’t have Photoshop Elements or anything, just whatever came on our computer with the Microsoft Picture Manager, but it’s still fun to play around.  And you can do some cool stuff, even with just bare-bones editing.  I think my favorites of this set, just interest-wise, are the ones with two rings in the flower and on the nails.  I like the contrast of the chunky, scratched-up ring and the delicate silver ring with the rose or the rust, respectively.  My very favorite, if I had to pick, would be the second from the top…click on the link to see it without the distracting red blog theme.  =D

~

I can’t remember, but I don’t think I edited this one at all:

~

Same one in b&w:

~

~

~

~

Same one in b&w:

~

~c. a.

write on a balloon...

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close